How to Get Through Monday

Good morning everyone! How is your Monday going so far? I know that Monday isn’t always the favorite day of the week, although I wouldn’t say it’s the hardest day of the week either. Normally I’m not a Monday person, but after the weekend we’ve had it’s a nice change of pace. However, if you need some ideas on how to get through the dreaded Monday, I’m here to help. Hopefully. You can get through Monday, you just might need an extra boost to do so.

Play Music

One of my favorite things to do is to pop in one of my earbuds and go about my day with music playing in my ear. It helps make chores go by faster since I tend to get lost in the music. I know this isn’t something everyone can do, especially if you work somewhere like a call center and are on the phone all day. However, if you’re able to and it’s all right with the coworkers around you, playing music on your computer at a low level may even help.

Listening to your favorite songs, or the songs that are simply stuck in your head, is a great way to relax through the first day of the week.

Eat Somewhere Special

When I say special I don’t necessarily mean fancy or expensive. I simply mean make plans to eat somewhere, preferably with a friend or special someone, either for lunch or dinner. If you can, you should make it a weekly thing so that you have something to look forward to on the dreaded Monday.

When I was working outside of our home, my favorite lunches were the ones I spent either with my Hubby or one of my friends. With my hubby we would either meet at the cafe at my work or at my parent’s house down the road. It was a special time when we could just be together and breathe. With my friends, we could take a step back from our hectic job and chat about anything and everything. I definitely miss those lunches.

While planning a special Monday night dinner gives you something to look forward to at the end of the day, eating somewhere special for lunch time gives you a well needed break during your day.

Have a Special Snack

If you can’t plan a full meal on Mondays then replace it with a snack. Snack on something you really enjoy and let it be a Monday-only thing. This is also great if you’re on a diet of some kind. Mondays can be the day you have a cheat snack.

I love Pocky. I currently have a box of it on my desk just waiting for me. Not only is it delicious, but something about crunching down on it helps me think while I’m writing or editing. Yes, I have to work to not eat a whole box at one time. If you have the same issue, limit how much of the snack you have access to.

Have a Book/Audiobook on Hand

Maybe you need some way to unwind on Mondays or you have a dreaded commute to work. Having a book, audiobook, or even a podcast on hand can help. Either one of those three things can help you relax at the beginning of Monday and at the end. I thought about suggesting they be one that you only indulge in on Monday, but who am I kidding? Even I wouldn’t be able to limit myself like that.

Wear Something Different

Another simple way to beat the dreaded Monday could be to wear your favorite perfume or cologne. The scent should be something you enjoy (obviously) but don’t make it one you wear every day. Let it be something different.

Another option would be to wear an article of clothing you particularly like. The plan is to make your Mondays brighter and wearing something you really enjoy could help you feel ready to take on the day. Whether it’s a dress, a shirt in a color you like but normally don’t wear, or a pair of shoes, put it on and Carpe Diem.

Don’t Do Something You Dread

I feel like this should be a given, but I’m gonna put it here anyway. If there’s something you know you should do but don’t want to do and you can put it off then by all means, don’t do it.

I’ll admit, this idea came with the thought of going to the gym. If you’re in that state of you know you need to workout but you don’t want to then let Monday be your off day. There is no rule that says any particular day has to be no-go day.

If there is something you have to do and you want to get it done early on in the week then do it on Tuesday instead. Is there a meeting or a dinner you need to attend but are dreading? Like I said, if you can, put it off until Tuesday.

Monday is just a Day

Remember, Monday is just a day. It will come and it will go. Like every other day we live through, there will be good moments and bad moments. Try not to focus on the bad but actively focus on finding the good. You and your mental health will be better for it.

How do you get through Mondays?

What are some ways you face the dreaded Mondays?

Let us know down below in the comments!!

Happy Monday!!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started