July 2023 Reads & Reviews

You know how sometimes I tend to have an unintentional theme for some months? Apparently last month was Ice Skating. Full disclosure, I forgot to take notes on these books when I read them. My favorite of the three books was definitely From Lukov with Love, but the Figure duet was also really good. Though they’re all about ice skating, the way the stories are woven together is different (obviously) and I would encourage you to check them out. All three are available on Kindle Unlimited!

From Lukov with Love by Mariana Zapata

If someone were to ask Jasmine Santos to describe the last few years of her life with a single word, it would definitely be a four-lettered one.
After seventeen years––and countless broken bones and broken promises––she knows her window to compete in figure skating is coming to a close. But when the offer of a lifetime comes in from an arrogant idiot she’s spent the last decade dreaming about pushing in the way of a moving bus, Jasmine might have to reconsider everything.
Including Ivan Lukov.

I cannot get this book out of my head. I’m running out of room on my KU slots and I still can’t return it. Somehow I moved on to the next book waiting in my TBR, but I kept thinking about this book. It will not leave my head, it’s just one of those books.

To outsiders, Jasmine is often described as hard to please or stuck up, but when given the reasons, all I see is her being dedicated. Yeah she has expectations for herself and her partner, what’s so wrong with that? That’s why Ivan is so perfect for her. They both push themselves and their partners to be the best they can be. Jasmine also deals with anxiety and it’s not a flaw the author gave her simply for the sake of it. As we discover more of Jasmine’s history, we come to understand why the anxiety developed.

Also, if my partner treated me the way Jasmine’s ex-partner treated her, I would definitely want to punch him, too.

As for Ivan, I had his number from the beginning. I knew what was up, but watching it unfold was *chefs kiss*. I love his humor and how he’s willing to banter with Jasmine when so few do. He pushes her when she needs it and he reels her in when she needs that, too. As the reader we have the broad picture, but we learn all the fine details along with Jasmine since it’s a single POV. We get to learn all of Ivan’s secrets and reasonings alongside her. Also the way he inadvertently calls her baby…eeek!!

One thing I wish there had been more of was interaction with Karina, Jasmine’s best friend and Ivan’s sister. We get one scene where she’s actually a participant and not just talked about. I would’ve loved more of that dynamic.

I don’t want to give too much away, but my––dare I say it?––favorite scene is finding out how Ivan felt and what he was thinking during the incident in Chapter Eighteen. I re-read those two scenes over and over, putting them together in my head.

From Lukov with Love is one of those books I could go on and on about, but I don’t want to end up spoiling anything. So just go pick it up for yourself and enjoy.

It Figures by Melody Tyden

Once upon a time, Amy’s future seemed golden. Training to be a world-class ice dancer with her partner, Austin, she dreamed of Olympic glory and the day Austin would see her as something more than just the little girl he skated with.
Then, in the blink of an eye, her whole life changed. Four years later, she’s just another face in the crowd at her university journalism program and everyone calls her Mia. Only her closest friends and family know anything about her past or the dreams she used to have. And that’s what she thought she wanted, until another twist of fate throws her temporarily back into Austin’s world. Can she keep the truth about who she is hidden from the one person who used to know her better than anyone?

What would it be like to completely lose everything about yourself that you have to completely reinvent who you are from your name to your hobbies? That’s exactly what happens with Mia. It may seem a bit overdramatic, but after reading the reason behind it, I really don’t blame her.

Meanwhile, it seems like Austin has completely moved on from the past tragedy. However, he still carries around a lot of turmoil over it and Amy’s disappearance. That turmoil is stirred up when Mia comes along and reminds him of his former partner and best friend.

The one word I think of for this book is Secrets. There’s the secret of Mia’s identity when she comes back into Austin’s orbit, and there’s the secrets about what happened that ended up tearing the two of them apart.

Honestly, I don’t know who irritated me more: Austin’s controlling mother, or his ice partner, Grace. That opinion doesn’t change with book two, either, just warning you.

When I first read It Figures, I was confused because they participate in Ice Dancing and I wasn’t sure how it differed from figure skating. So of course I had to do some research and it seems like the main differences are that there are less jumps allowed and one less program in ice dancing than in figure skating.

I wouldn’t say It Figures ends on a cliffhanger, but it is a definite lead-in to the second book.

Figuring It Out by Melody Tyden

After making peace with Austin and everything that happened between them, Mia finds herself back in the world of high-level ice dancing she thought she’d left behind for good. It’s an incredible opportunity and she doesn’t want to do anything to mess it up, including getting involved with the one man she’s never been able to resist.
When fate throws another twist their way, she’s faced with a choice she never thought she’d have to make. Is there still a chance for all her dreams to come true, on and off the ice?

Have I mentioned I don’t like Grace? Because I don’t. She’s controlling and manipulative and when things don’t go her way, she basically throws a tantrum and tries to make herself appear the victim. Thankfully this book isn’t about her.

Figuring It Out is about two people overcoming the past hurts and present obstacles together. Despite the flashbacks in It Figures, I felt like we really get to see the strong relationship Austin and Mia had before in this second book. Maybe that’s because the first book was about them finding each other while this one is about them actually coming back together, does that make sense? It was cute how they fell into old habits.

Also, some of this book takes place in Japan! I’m sure I don’t have to tell you how much I enjoyed that.

One thing that I don’t think is ever properly explained is Austin’s Mother’s attitude toward Mia. Yeah she’s a difficult person with everyone, but it’s especially so with Mia. Maybe there’s a full explanation in there that I simply don’t remember, but at this point it almost feels like the animosity is there simply for the sake of the drama. Or maybe his mom is just so narcissistic that she doesn’t like anyone having more of Austin’s attention than her?

Overall I think Figuring It Out was an excellent follow-up and conclusion to the duet. It was sweet and satisfying as Austin and Mia both had their dreams fulfilled.

What was your favorite book in July?

Do you have any suggestions for what I should read next? Leave them in the comments below!

Happy Wednesday!!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started